Second Law Commission

The Second Law commission was appointed by the British Crown under the Charter Act, 1853. The commission was appointed in England on 29th Nov., 1853. It consisted of five members, namely; Sir John Romilly, M. R., Sir John Jervis Chief justice of Supreme Court of Calcutta, Sir Edward Ryan, Ex-chief Justice of Supreme Court at Calcutta, Robert Lone, M.P., afterwards Lord Sherbrook, C.M. Cameron, President of the First Law Commission and law member of Governor General’s Council, John M. Macleod civil servant of Madras and a member of the First Law Commission and T. F. Ellis, a reporter of the decisions of the court of Queen’s Bench as secretary to the law commission.

Sir John Romilly, M. R. was the chairman of the commission. The Commission consisted of leading lawyers of England who also had knowledge of Indian laws. Members were also associated with the First Law Commission. The main function of the commission was to examine the report of the First Law Commission for the purpose of reforming substantive laws of India and judicial procedure. Second Law Commission functioned till 1856. During its 3 years life it submitted four reports

First Report

The very first task assigned to the commission was to consider about the preliminary measures which would be necessary for effecting the amalgamation of the Sadar, Courts of each of the presidencies. Consequently in its first report, the commission submitted a plan for the amalgamation of the Supreme Court at Calcutta with the Sadar Diwani and Nizamat Adalats, as well as for simple and uniform codes of civil and criminal procedures. The basic recommendation of the Commission was to constitute a single tribunal called High Court in place of Supreme Court and Sadar Adalats.

Second Report

The commission pointed out that India wants a body of substantive civil laws, in preparing which the law of England should be used as a basis, which once enacted should itself be the law of India on the subjects it embraced. Commission also recommended that in preparing such body of laws constant regard to be given to the conditions, the character, religions and usages of the population of India. Because Hindu and Mohammedan laws derive their authority from Hindu and Mohammedan religions and British Legislature cannot make laws according to Mohammedan or Hindu religions.

Third Report

In the third report the commission prepared a plan for the North-Western provinces in order to install there a judicial system and procedure, uniform, as far as the difference of circumstances permit, with the system recommended for Bengal.

Fourth Report

In this report the commission recommended a similar plans for the presidencies of Madras and Bombay.

Achievements of Second Law Commission

In 1860, the Indian Penal Code proposed by Macaulay was taken up, revised and finally passed. Codes of Civil Procedure and Criminal Procedure were passed in 1859 and 1861 respectively. Law of Limitation as prepared by the First  Law Commission was revised and finally passed in 1859. The commission also prepared a draft of the law of succession and inheritance exempting Hindus and Mohammedans applicable to all other peoples.


Also Read History of British settlement of Bombay and development of its administration of justice before 1726
Also Read Charter of 1726
Also Read Mayor’s Court under the Charter of 1687 and 1726
Also Read Charter of 1753
Also Read Regulating Act, 1773
Also Read Trial of Raja Nand Kumar
Also Read Warren Hastings Judicial Plan of 1772 and 1774
Also Read Judicial plan of 1790 and 1793
Also Read Judicial Reforms of Lord William Bentinck
Also Read Patna Case
Also Read Kamaluddin Ali Khan Case
Also Read The Act of Settlement 1781
Also Read Salient features of Mohammedan Criminal Law
Also Read Development of Criminal Law in India before the codification of I.P.C., 1860
Also Read History of writ jurisdiction in India
Also Read History of appeals to Privy Council from India
Also Read Recommendations made by First Law Commission in India
Also Read Main provisions of Indian High Court Act 1861
Also Read Federal Court: Its Constitution and Jurisdiction
Also Read Supreme Court of India: Establishment, Constitution and Jurisdiction
Also Read Main provisions of Government of India Act 1919
Also Read Main Provisions of Government of India Act 1935
Also Read Main Provisions of the Indian Independence Act 1947
Also Read Recorder’s Court
Also Read Simon Commission
Also Read East India Company Act or Pitt’s India Act 1784
Also Read Grant of Diwani
Also Read Second Law Commission
Also Read Choultry Courts
Also Read Main Provisions of Indian Council Act 1861
Also Read System of Administration and Justice at Surat before 1726
Also Read History of British Settlement of Madras and its Judicial Institutions Development
Also Read Cossijurah Case
Also Read Constitution and Recommendations of Third Law Commission
Also Read Supreme Court established in 1774 under the Regulating Act 1773
Also Read Constitutional History of India
Also Read Codification of Law in India
Also Read Introduction of English Law in India
Also Read Writ Jurisdiction of the High Courts before the commencement of the Constitution
Also Read Judicial System in British India after the Abolition of the Presidency Supreme Court and the Adalat System
Also Read Supreme Court at Calcutta
Also Read Administration of Justice in British India

Leave a Comment